At the 1st National Convention of The American Legion in 1919, the Boy Scouts of America program was adopted to help achieve patriotic attitudes in youth.  The American Legion believed then, as it does now, that Scouting is a valuable program for developing boys into men of high moral character.

The American Legion and the Boy Scouts of America have developed a cooperative relationship to promote the organization and sponsorship of Scout units by posts of The American Legion.  The American Legion believes this excellent program is another way to provide the youth of America with the opportunity to participate in worthwhile activities fostering good character, citizenship, and fitness.

While the department does not involve itself in direct support of any scouting units it is the policy of the department and its Boy Scout Committee to encourage and support local posts in their sponsorship of scout units.  The department does this through its selection of a number of scouting award winners and scholarship recipients.

At the annual Fall Conference the Department Boy Scout Committee selects a High Adventure Award winner from each of the 5 divisions in the department.  The Boy Scouts who win this award receive a $1000.00 scholarship towards attendance at any of the recognized “high adventure” programs sponsored by the Boy Scouts of America.

The committee selects winners of a number of scouting awards at the Legion’s Mid-Winter Conference.  Awards judged include the Department Cubmaster of the Year Award, the Department Scoutmaster of the Year Award, Scouter of the Year Award, the Venture Advisor of the Year Award, the Sea Scout Skipper of the Year Award, Cub Scout Pack of the Year Award, the Department Boy Scout Troop of the Year Award, the Varsity Scout Unit of the Year, the Venture Crew Unit of the Year and the Sea Scout Ship of the Year Award.  The individuals and organizations judged for these awards are selected and nominated by their local posts.



Mail: PO Box 26657
Raleigh, NC 27611-6657

Office: 2940 Falstaff Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27611

Phone: (919) 832-7506
Fax: (919) 832-6428

Department Adjutant
Tierian “Randy” Cash

Executive Secretary
Deborah Rose

Membership Manager
Loree Miller

Sheila Bayles

Program Manager
Greg Gidding